Pastoral Groups

House and Pastoral Groups

The school is organised into a Pastoral Group system; the four groups underpin our Faith and pastoral life and are named after Northern saints, St. Wilfred (Blue), St. Bede (Green), St. Cuthbert (Red) and St. Aidan (Yellow). All adults and children belong to one of these groups, together with their brothers and sisters.

Each fortnight, the groups gather together to celebrate a short liturgy and reflection. Parents are invited to join their children each half term.

On Fridays we gather together as a school to celebrate achievement assembly. Children share their efforts and awards with each other both in and out of school.

Year 6 pupils are appointed as House Captains and some older pupils in Year 5 and 6 act as pupil chaplains for their pastoral groups.

The children in each group have written their own prayer, chosen their own hymn and written a vision statement together.